When do you need an Armenian regular visa?

If you are not from a country eligible for an Armenian e-Visa, your only option is an Armenian regular visa.

If you are not a citizen of the countries below, you will need a regular visa:

  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Bahamas
  • Bahrain
  • Barbados
  • Belize
  • Bhutan
  • Bolivia
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Brunei
  • Cambodia
  • Canada
  • Chile
  • China
  • Colombia
  • Costa Rica
  • Cuba
  • Dominica
  • Dominican Republic
  • East Timor
  • Ecuador
  • El Salvador
  • Fiji
  • Grenada
  • Guatemala
  • Guyana
  • Haiti
  • Honduras
  • India
  • Indonesia
  • Israel
  • Jamaica
  • Jordan
  • Kiribati
  • North Korea
  • Kuwait
  • Laos
  • Lebanon
  • Malaysia
  • Maldives
  • Marshall Islands
  • Mexico
  • Federated States of Micronesia
  • Mongolia
  • Myanmar
  • Nauru
  • Nicaragua
  • North Macedonia
  • Oman
  • Palau
  • Panama
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Philippines
  • Saint Kitts and Nevis
  • Saint Lucia
  • Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
  • Serbia
  • Solomon Islands
  • South Africa
  • Suriname
  • Taiwan
  • Thailand
  • Tonga
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Turkmenistan
  • Tuvalu
  • Vanuatu
  • Venezuela.

Categories of regular visas for the Republic of Armenia:

  • Visitor visa (V)
  • Official visa (O)
  • Diplomatic visa (D)
  • Transit visa (Tr)

The visit (V) or visitor visa authorizes its holder to enter the territory of the Republic of Armenia. The visitor visa can be valid for a single or multiple entries, valid for a maximum period of one year.

The single entry visitor visa authorizes its holder to make a single visit to the Republic of Armenia during the period of validity of the visa. The multiple-entry visitor visa is issued to a foreigner for one year. A visitor visa is issued to a foreigner wishing to make a tourist stay in Armenian.

The transit visa (Tr) is required if Armenia is a transit country to other countries, and can be single entry or multiple entries. The single entry transit visa authorizes its holder to cross the territory of the Republic of Armenia only once.

The multiple-entry transit visa allows the foreigner to cross the territory of the Republic of Armenia multiple times.

Place of issuance of visas

Visas are issued by diplomatic or consular missions of the Republic of Armenia. A foreign national wishing to apply for a visa from the Republic of Armenia must submit the following documents:

  • Completed visa application form
  • Valid travel document whose expiry date must be at least one month past the expiry date of the visa,
  • A color ID photo,
  • An invitation if applicable,
  • Visa tax regulations. Please note, the payment method may vary from one country to another.

Processing time for requests

The consular representatives of the Republic of Armenia require three working days to decide on a visa application. In certain cases, an additional examination may justify an extension of the time taken to examine applications.

Reasons for refusing a visa

A foreigner is refused the issue of an entry visa or prohibited from entering the territory of the Republic of Armenia if:

  • The applicant is involved in terrorism and trafficking.
  • The applicant is suffering from a contagious disease. The applicant is allowed, if the applicant plans to stay for medical reasons.
  • The applicant has provided false information.
  • The applicant’s presence on the territory of the Republic of Armenia constitutes a threat to national security and public order.

Regular Visa vs Electronic Visa

To apply for a regular visa, you are required to go to an Armenian embassy in your home country and submit the required documents. While an e-Visa is applied for online, you do not have to submit a passport or any other documents in-person. You also need to wait for some weeks to get an Armenian regular visa as opposed to a few days to get an Armenian e-visa.

You can apply for a regular Armenian visa by going to the Armenian embassy in your home country. You have to submit all the necessary documents for the regular visa. The advantage of a regular Armenian visa is that it is valid for a longer period compared to an Armenian e-visa.

The disadvantage is that it takes a longer period to process. You need to schedule an appointment before you get to the Armenian consulate to get this visa.